Child pages
  • Change a user's company file access


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

You can manage each user’s sign-on details and change their role (the parts of the company file they can use), from within each company file. You might do this if a user has:

  • forgotten their password and needs you to reset it 
  • new responsibilities within your business
  • changed their name

 

You must be the company file administrator, or a user assigned the Administrator role, to change user access. If you don't sign on as an administrator, the User Access option won't appear in the Setup menu.

Signed on as an Administrator but still can't see the User Access option? Contact us for help.

To change a user’s role

 To change a user’s role

  1. Sign-on to your company file as an administrator.
  2. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  3. In the user list, select the user whose role you want to change.
  4. In the Roles section of the window, select or deselect the role you want this user to have. If you want, you can customise roles to suit your business needs. You can disallow access to any feature and even set some as read-only. There's a lot that you can control, so it's worth taking a quick look through the default roles and changing them, if necessary.
  5. Click Save.
  6. If you're prompted to change this user’s access to the online file, select the appropriate option. For more information, see Check a user's online status.
  7. Click Close.
To change a user's name or email address

 To change a user's name or email address

After you've set up a user, you can't change the user name or email address. However, if they haven't entered any transactions, you can delete the user name and create a new user.

If the user has entered transactions, you'll need to make the user inactive and create a new user. This makes sure AccountRight keeps a history of all users for auditing reports

  1. Sign-on to your company file as an administrator.
  2. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  3. In the user list, select the user whose name you want to change.
  4. Select Inactive User.
  5. Click Save. You don't need to make any changes to their online account.

    Create a new user
  6. Click New User.
  7. Select the This user will sign on with a my.MYOB account option. This option allows them to open the file by just entering their my.MYOB details. They won't need to enter the User ID or company file password to open the file. If the user's email address has more than 35 characters, you can't link their my.MYOB account here (we're working on increasing this limit). However, the user can do so themselves when they sign on to the company file.

    Set up company file sign-on details
  8. Type the user’s name in the User name field.
  9. Enter their email address in the Email field. This must be the email address that they use to log into my.MYOB. If they don't already have a my.MYOB account, they'll be invited to create one when you finish setting them up.
  10. Click the set an offline password link. Specify a password for them to enter when signing on to this file when it's checked out, or offline, or when my.MYOB authentication isn't available.

  11. If you want to give the user online administrator access, select the Invite user to be an online administrator option.

    Select user roles 

  12. In the Company file roles list, select the roles you want to assign to this user account. For example, if you want to give the user access to all banking features, select the Banking role. If you want, you can customise roles to suit your business needs. You can disallow access to any feature and even set some as read-only. There's a lot that you can control, so it's worth taking a quick look through the default roles and changing them, if necessary.
  13. Click Save and Invite User. An email will be sent to the user's email address inviting them to access your online company file.
To reset a user’s company file password

To reset a user’s company file password

  1. Sign-on to your company file as an administrator.
  2. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  3. In the user list, select the user whose password you want to change.
  4. Enter the new password in the Password and Confirm Password fields.

    If the user's my.MYOB account has been linked to their company file user ID, click the set an offline password link to access the Password fields.

  5. Click Save.
  6. Contact the user and tell them their new password. They can change this password the first time they sign on.

  Company file access FAQs


Why can't I select the "Read Only" or "Inactive User" options?

Why can't I select the "Read Only" or "Inactive User" options?

The Read Only and Inactive User options won't be selectable if a user has been set up with the Administrator role. To allow these options to be selectable:

  1. Click to select the user from the list of Company file users.
  2. Deselect the Administrator role.
  3. Select any other role.
  4. Click Save. The Read Only and Inactive User options are now selectable.
  5. Select the Administrator role and deselect the other role you chose at step 3.
  6. Select the Read Only and/or the Inactive User option (as needed).
  7. Click Save.