Child pages
  • Set a user's online access level


 

 

Access to your online company file and other AccountRight online services is determined by a person's online access level.

Online access is different to company file access which is controlled through your user access settings.

The online access levels are:

Online owner

This is the person who set up the AccountRight subscription, and it's the highest level of online access.

In addition to the functions permitted by an online administrator, an online owner can perform these functions for their software serial number:

Changing the online owner

If you need to change the person listed as the online owner for your company file, contact our customer service team on 1300 555 151 (Australia) or 0800 60 69 62 (New Zealand).

Online administrator

After accepting an invitation to be an online administrator, a person can work with any company file listed under the owner’s software serial number. You would only give online administrator access to a person you trust to manage user access to your company file data, such as your office manager or your bookkeeper.

An online administrator can also:

Online file user 

An online file user can work with any company file they have accepted an invitation to use. This is the basic level of online access given to people you want to work on your company file.

As people within your business change roles, the type of access they have to AccountRight and the tasks you need them to perform in relation to your company files might also need to change.

Need to change the online owner?

If you need to change the person listed as the online owner for your company file, contact our customer service team on 1300 555 151 (Australia) or 0800 60 69 62 (New Zealand).

To make an online administrator an online file user

To make an online administrator an online file user

  1. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  2. Click the Manage online access button.
  3. If prompted to sign in to my.MYOB, sign in. The Manage online access page opens in your browser.
  4. Find the user in the Online administrator access list and click Remove access. This user is removed from the list.
  5. Click Invite new online file user. The invitation window appears.
    Remove Access
  6. Enter their email address, first name and last name.
  7. Click Invite. The Manage online access page reappears with a confirmation message at the top.
    Two emails will be sent to this user. One advises that their administrator access is cancelled, the other invites them to become a file user.
    To monitor if or when they accept the invitation, see Check a user's online status.
To make an online file user an online administrator

To make an online file user an online administrator

  1. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  2. Click the Manage online access button.
  3. If prompted to sign in to my.MYOB, sign in. The Manage online access page opens in your browser.
  4. Find the user in the list of online file users.
  5. Click Remove access. This user is removed from the list.
    Remove Access
  6. Click Invite new online administrator. The invitation window appears.
  7. Enter the user's email address, first name and last name.
  8. Click Invite. The Manage online access page reappears with a confirmation message at the top.
    Two emails will be sent to this user. One advises that their online file user access is cancelled, the other invites them to become an online administrator.
    To monitor if or when they accept the invitation, see Check a user's online status.

Once they accept the invitation they can access the file according to the permissions you give them. If you need to change their company file permissions, see Change a user's company file access.

To resend or cancel an invitation

To resend or cancel an invitation

If you invite a person to be an online file user or administrator by mistake, you can cancel the invitation before it is accepted. It's also a similar process to resend an invitation.

  1. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  2. Click the Manage online access button.
     
  3. If prompted to sign in to my.MYOB, sign in. The Manage online access page opens in your browser.
  4. Find the user in the relevant list.
    Cancel Invitation 
  5. Click Resend invitation or Cancel invitation.
To make an offline file user an online administrator

To make an offline file user an online administrator

  1. Go to the Setup menu and choose User Access. The User Access window appears.
  2. Select the offline file user from the list.
  3. Select the option This user will sign on with a my.MYOB account.
  4. Enter an Email address for the user.
  5. Select the option Invite user to be an online administrator.
  6. Click Save and Invite User


An email will be sent to this user, inviting them to become an online administrator. To monitor if or when they accept the invitation, see Check a user's online status.