Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

You can synchronise your AccountRight cards and your Microsoft Outlook contacts. If your business uses Microsoft Outlook for email and to manage contact information, this will make it easier for you to keep both your AccountRight cards and your Outlook contacts up to date.

Your AccountRight cards are your customer, supplier, employee and personal cards stored in your AccountRight card file. Your Outlook contacts are your contacts stored in your Microsoft Outlook address book.

When you synchronise your AccountRight cards and your Outlook contacts, you can:

  • make the details in your Outlook contacts match the details in your AccountRight cards (by exporting your AccountRight cards to your Outlook contacts) or
  • make the details in your AccountRight cards match the details in your Outlook contacts (by importing your Outlook contacts to your AccountRight cards).

When you synchronise, the following details are imported or exported: company name or contact name, address details, email and web addresses and telephone, fax and mobile numbers.

If you are exporting your AccountRight cards to your Outlook contacts, you can also include your Card File custom fields in the export. When you do this, you specify how your custom fields match the Categories, Anniversary, Birthday or Spouse’s name fields in your Outlook contacts. For information on setting up Card File custom fields see Custom card fields.

Synchronisation update rules

As part of the synchronisation process, you choose whether or not you want to update the details for existing contacts. To do this, you select from one of the following update rules.

RuleDescription
Update existing contactsNew contacts are added and existing contacts are updated. You will not be prompted to confirm updates.
Do not update existing contactsNew contacts are added but existing contacts are not updated. You are not prompted to confirm any updates.
Ask me to confirm updates

New contacts are added and you are prompted to confirm updates. If you select this rule, you specify how you want to deal with the discrepancies between the details in your AccountRight cards and the details in your Outlook contacts.

You can:

  • review and update the details for each contact
  • select to update all contacts (if you select this option, you will not be prompted to confirm any further updates) or
  • skip an update for a contact and leave the details for the contact unchanged.

Learn more about: