Child pages
  • Deactivating or reactivating employees


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

Once you save an employee in MYOB Essentials, you can't remove (delete) them. But if the employee is no longer needed in MYOB Essentials, for example you've processed their final pay, you can mark them as Inactive. This prevents the employee appearing in selection lists and excludes them from some reports. It also lets you reactivate their record if needed.

 

To mark an employee as inactive
  1. From the Payroll menu, choose Employees.
  2. Click the employee to be made inactive.
  3. On the Employee details tab, deselect the Active employee option.
    Employee record with active employee option deselected

  4. Click Save.
To reactivate an employee

In New Zealand? If you've done a final pay you won't be able to reactivate the employee. Instead, you'll need to create a new employee record.

  1. From the Payroll menu, choose Employees.
  2. Click Show inactive.
    Employees page with show inactive button highlighted
  3. Click the employee to be reactivated.
  4. On the Employee details tab, select the Active employee option.
  5. Click Save.
  6. (Single Touch Payroll, Australia only) If you're reinstating an employee in the same payroll year they were terminated, you'll need to undo their finalisation for Single Touch Payroll reporting. This lets the ATO know the employee has been reinstated.
    1. Go to Payroll Payroll reporting.
    2. Click Employee terminations.
    3. Deselect the finalised employee and remove the Employment End Date.
    4. Click Notify the ATO.
    5. Enter your name as the authorised declarer and click Send.

 
delete employee