Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
HTML Wrap
classsection group
HTML
<span data-swiftype-index="true">
html-
html-wrap
classcol span_3_of_5

This information applies only if you're upgrading from AccountRight Classic (v19 or earlier) and have chosen to upgrade your file yourself.

Upgrading is a two-part process that involves first installing the new software version, then upgrading your company file to use with the new software. When you upgrade your company file, the records and transactions within your file are copied into a format that will work with the new software version.

There may also be some additional upgrade tasks that you need to do, depending on what features you use in your current version.

Do I need to upgrade every time AccountRight changes?

No. When you install future AccountRight updates, your file will update automatically.

Before you upgrade

Before you upgrade your company file, note the following:

  • If your cards or items are set up with pictures. Pictures must be saved in a subfolder called Graphics, which is in the same location as the company file you're upgrading. For example, if the file you're upgrading is located at C:\Plus19, make sure the pictures are in a folder C:\Plus19\Graphics. If the pictures aren't in this folder when you upgrade, you'll need to manually add them to your records again. Also, images over 200KB in size will not successfully import.
  • If you've set up user accounts in your company file, all user accounts (except for the Administrator account) will become inactive when you upgrade until you assign roles to them. Assigning roles is an easier way for you to set access privileges for each user of the file.
  • Administrator access. If

    Keypoints

    You need an AccountRight subscription to upgrade

    If you don't have a subscription, you'll need one before you can upgrade. Subscribe now.

    If you're already have a subscription and want to know how many files you can put online, see here.

    Anchor
    check
    check
    Check if you can upgrade

    If you use these features in your Classic AccountRight (v19 or earlier) software, you won't be able to upgrade to the new AccountRight as these features aren't available in the new AccountRight:

    • M-Powered Payments

    • negative inventory

    • add-ons that require ODBC. Are your add-ons compatible? Check the add-on centre (Australia | New Zealand) or contact the add-on provider to check if the add-on can work with the new AccountRight.

    For more information, see We can't upgrade some Premier files.

    UI Text Box
    sizemedium
    typenote

    Can't upgrade and need to be compliant for Single Touch Payroll (STP)? If you can't upgrade because you use M-Powered Payments or negative inventory, we've worked with the ATO and you've been granted a deferral from STP.

     If you can upgrade here are some things to check first

    Check ifMore information
    your computer can run the new AccountRight

    Check the full system requirements.

    the size of your file is 300MB or moreIf your file is 300MB or more in size, you should prepare your company file for the new AccountRight . This can help the upgrade complete faster and smoother.
    the file you want to upgrade is located in a C:\Program Files subfolder
    , you’ll
    You’ll need to log on to your computer as an administrator before you can upgrade it.
    Customised reports cannot be upgraded. If
    For tips on how to find the file you want to upgrade, see How to find your file.
    you have customised reports
    , you

    You'll need to recreate them in the new software version.

    Note that there have been significant improvements to the reports customisation tools in AccountRight, making this task a lot easier.
  • Customer credit card details are not moved to upgraded company files. To comply with PCI Data Security Standards, only the last four digits of any credit card numbers recorded in your company file will be available to view in the upgraded file, and no card expiry dates will be retained. See PCI Security Standards Council.
  • (Australia only) BASlink setup might need to be imported after upgrade. If you prepare your BAS using BASlink, you'll need to import your BAS setup information into your upgraded file.
  • Customised forms need to be migrated separately after upgrade. If you have custom forms you want to continue using, they need to be migrated into your upgraded file. There’s an easy-to-use tool we’ve included in AccountRight to help you do this.
  •  The good news is we've made customising reports easier. See Customising reports.

    Your customised forms can be migrated into the new AccountRight after the upgrade - so you won't need to customise them again.

    you can find the file you want to upgrade.See Find the file you want to upgrade for tips.

    Anchor
    online
    online

    UI Expand
    expandedtrue
    titleYou can work online or offline – it's your choice

    If you upgradeonline, you still get to choose how you work day to day. You can either:

    • work online, so you can work with others on your company file. For example, your accountant can log on and run reports without interrupting your work.
    • work offline (check out your file) so you can keep working if you won't have access to the internet for a while. Or, you might prefer to work offline and go back online only when you want your accountant to access your file. AccountRight gives you that flexibility. 

    Switching between working online and offline is pretty easy:

    check out and check back inImage Added

    But if you really can't or don't want to work online at all, you can upgrade your file without putting it online.

    If you:

    • don't want online access
    • don't have an internet connection, or it's very slow
    • don't have a subscription for an online file
    • or if you operate on a network

    you can upgrade the file without putting it online — but this means you won't have access to key features. You can still put your company file online later if you change your mind.

    What's different in the new AccountRight?

    Upgrading AccountRight made easy free eLearningImage Added

    Ready to upgrade?

    You can send your company file to us and we'll do the upgrade for you.

    See Upgrade to the new AccountRight.

    After you've upgraded

    After you open your upgraded company file, you may need to set up a few features again, depending on what features you use. See Complete your upgrade tasks for all the details.

    HTML
    <div style="display: none;" data-swiftype-name="keywords" data-swiftype-type="enum">downgrade</div>
    
    html-wrap
    width15%
    classcol span_1_of_5
     
    HTML Wrap
    floatleft
    classcol span_1_of_5
    Panelbox
    namegreen
    titleRelated topics
    HTML Wrap
    classsidebarlinks

    Upgrade to the new AccountRight

    Upgrade a Premier multi-currency company file

    Upgrade without putting your company file Additional upgrade online

    Reducing the size of your file before upgrading

    How many files you can put online

    Try AccountRight before you upgrade your file

    Complete your upgrade tasks

    What's new for v19 users

    Panelbox
    nameyellow
    titleFrom the community

    RSS Feed
    titleBarfalse
    max5
    showTitlesOnlytrue
    urlhttp://community.myob.com/myob/rss/search?q=upgrade&filter=labels%2Clocation%2CsolvedThreads&location=forum-board%3AInstallingUpgrading&search_type=thread&solved=true

    HTML Wrap
    classmorelinks

    More »