You can convert clients to a contact before you start doing work for them, as long as there are no assignments attached.
Once assignments have been added to a client and time posted against them, you will not be able to delete the assignments. Your only option then is to close the client if you no longer required them in the database.
Copyright 2018 MYOB Technology Pty Ltd. All rights reserved. This help topic is provided as a guide only, in accordance with our Legal Disclaimer. For specific taxation or accounting advice, please consult the relevant tax authority or regulator.