Page tree


 

 

After you add an account grouping, you need to allocate accounts to account groups within that account grouping. This organises and controls report data.

You can allocate accounts at a client or practice level. MYOB automatically allocates some accounts when you add the account grouping, but you can change these too. Unallocated, Client, Practice and MYOB tags help identify how the account is allocated.

See an example of some of the options you have when setting up account grouping.

You can also Separate debits and credits into different account groups.

Unallocated accounts

Unallocated accounts will affect calculations in your workpapers, tax returns, tax reconciliations and financial reports.

An account displays an Unallocated tag in the chart of accounts if the account isn't allocated to an account group.

Unallocated accounts message

If an unallocated account has a balance that isn't 0, you'll see a message displayed on the trial balance with a link to the account grouping settings.

To allocate accounts to an account group
  1. To allocate at a client level:
    1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
    2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
  2. To allocate at a practice level:
    1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
    2. Select Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
  3. To filter by unallocated accounts, choose Unallocated accounts from the View drop-down.
  4. If you want to include accounts that have a balance of 0, select Include zero balances.
  5. Select the checkbox next to the account or next to the bold account header.

    You can select one or multiple accounts. To instantly select all the accounts in a range, select the checkbox next to the bold account header.


  6. Click Group account/s.
  7. Expand the account group to its lowest level.
  8. Select a group and click Apply. If the accounts you selected are already allocated to a group, the Confirm duplicate assignment window appears.

    Duplicated accounts will be displayed multiple times on reports, workpapers and the tax reconciliation—once in each group that you allocate them to.

  9. If the Confirm duplicate assignment window appears, click either
    • Yes, duplicate or
    • Cancel to go back and change the allocation.
  10. Click Save grouping.
To unallocate accounts from an account group

You can also revert all changes made to account groups.

  1. To unallocate at a client level:
    1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
    2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
  2. To unallocate at a practice level:
    1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
    2. Click Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
  3. In the Account groups section, expand the account group to the lowest level.
  4. Hover over the account range, click the ellipsis icon () and choose Ungroup.
  5. Click Yes to confirm. The account appears back in the Chart of accounts section with an Unallocated tag.
  6. Click Save grouping.
To undo all changes made to an account group

This undoes all changes you made to a folder in the account group tree. You can undo client-level changes back to your practice-level settings, and practice-level changes back to MYOB standard settings.

  1. To undo a client-level change:
    1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
    2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
  2. To undo a practice-level change:
    1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
    2. Select Account grouping and select an account group.
  3. Expand the Account groups tree to the level that you want to restore.
  4. Hover over the folder, click the ellipsis icon () and choose Restore account group to default.
  5. Click Yes to confirm.