Page tree


 

 

As an administrator, after you add an account grouping, you need to group the accounts within that grouping. This organises and controls report data.

Unallocated accounts will affect calculations in your financial reports, tax reconciliations and tax returns.

You can group accounts at a client or practice level. MYOB automatically groups some accounts when you add the account grouping, but you can change these too.

Tips and tricks for grouping accounts
  • Use the search boxes in the Chart or accounts and Account groups panels to jump straight to the account you're looking for.
  • Unallocated, Client, Practice and MYOB tags help identify if an account is allocated, and at what level.
  • To see where accounts that are already grouped are located, hover over an account link in the Chart of accounts section.
  • If accounts or their debits and credits are grouped to multiple locations, hover over the Multiple account link in the Chart of accounts section to see the locations.

    You can click the account link to open the locations.
  • You can select one or multiple accounts. To instantly select all the accounts in a range, select the checkbox next to the bold account header.
  • Use the summary of selected accounts at the top of the page to keep track of which accounts you have selected.
  • We'll autosave all your changes. You'll see a spinning icon () when your changes are being saved and you'll see the save status at the top of the page.

    You'll see the last save date and time or, if autosaving fails, you'll see a message here notifying you that there are unsaved changes. In this case, you can click Save grouping.
To group accounts
  1. Choose whether you want to group at a client level or practice level:
    1. To group at a client level:
      1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
      2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
    2. To group at a practice level:
      1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
      2. Select Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
    3. Make sure the right financial year is displayed in the Financial year dropdown.

    Optionally, to make it easier to find unallocated accounts:

    • Choose Unallocated accounts from the View dropdown.
    • If you want to include accounts that have a balance of 0, select Include zero balances.
  2. In the Chart of accounts panel, select the checkbox next to the account or next to the bold account header.

  3. In the Account groups panel, hover over the group that you want to allocate the account to and click Group account.

     

  4. If the account you selected was already allocated to a group, select whether you want to move or duplicate the grouping and click Confirm.

    Duplicated accounts will be displayed multiple times on reports, workpapers and the tax reconciliation—once in each group that you allocate them to.

  5. Check the save status at the top of the page to confirm that your changes were autosaved and, if they weren't, click Save grouping.
To ungroup accounts or undo all changes in a group

You remove individual accounts from an account group. You can also ungroup or restore all changes made to an account group.

By undoing all changes to a group, you can undo client-level changes back to your practice-level settings, and practice-level changes back to MYOB standard settings.

  1. Choose whether you want to undo changes at a client level or practice level:
    1. To undo at a client level:
      1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
      2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
    2. To undo at a practice level:
      1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
      2. Select Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
  2. Make sure the right financial year is displayed in the Financial year dropdown.
  3. In the Account groups section, hover over the account you want to ungroup, or over the group you want to ungroup or restore.
  4. Click the ellipsis icon () and choose Ungroup or Restore account group to default and confirm. The accounts appear back in the Chart of accounts section with an Unallocated tag.
  5. Check the save status at the top of the page to confirm that your changes were autosaved and, if they weren't, click Save grouping.

Separating debits and credits

By default, an account's debits and credits are assigned to the same account group. You can separate the debits and credits into different account groups. For example, you may want to separate the debits and credits from a director's loan account into money lent to and borrowed from the business.

To separate debits and credits into different account groups
  1. Choose whether you want to make changes at a client level or practice level:
    1. To change at a client level:
      1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
      2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
    2. To change at a practice level:
      1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
      2. Select Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
    3. Make sure the right financial year is displayed in the Financial year dropdown.
  2. In the Account groups section, expand the group folders to display the account range you want to change.
  3. Hover over the account range, click the ellipsis icon () and choose Debit/credit rules.
  4. Select Separate debits and credits.

  5. From the This group will display dropdown, select if you want to use this account range for Credit or Debit.
  6. Click Select group location and select a group for the other balances. For example, the other balance would be debit if you just selected credit for this account group.
  7. Click Apply. In the Account groups tree, Credit or Debit is displayed next to the account ranges that you changed.
  8. Check the save status at the top of the page to confirm that your changes were autosaved and, if they weren't, click Save grouping.
To revert debit and credit separation back to one group
  1. Choose whether you want to make changes at a client level or practice level:
    1. To change at a client level:
      1. View a client's workspace and click the gear icon () next to the client's name on the top right of the page.
      2. In the Account grouping section, click Open.
    2. To change at a practice level:
      1. On the left of the page, click Settings.
      2. Select Account grouping and select the name of an account group.
  2. Make sure the right financial year is displayed in the Financial year dropdown.
  3. In the Account groups section, expand the group folders to display the account you want to change.
  4. Hover over the account range, click the ellipsis icon () and choose Debit/credit rules.
  5. Select Include all balances and click Apply.
  6. Check the save status at the top of the page to confirm that your changes were autosaved and, if they weren't, click Save grouping.