Page tree


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

 

 

MYOB Practice Administrators can restrict other users from seeing certain clients in MYOB Practice. This is useful if you want to keep some clients confidential within your practice.

Example: Say you want to restrict a few clients to just one or two particular users, for privacy purposes. You can select which users are allowed to access those clients. Nobody else will see the restricted clients in their Contact list, and won't have access to their client portals or documents.

The Administrator role was assigned to one staff member when you migrated to MYOB Practice. The original Administrator may also have given other users the Administrator role.

You can tell if you're an Administrator by what you see when you click Settings () on the left menu bar. Administrators will see the Staff menu option.


If no one in your practice has an Administrator role, you need to contact us.

System requirements

The way you restrict user access to clients depends on which software you use.

If you use:Prerequisites:Set up restrictions:
MYOB Practice only
You don't use MYOB AE/AOSet up in MYOB Practice (see below for instructions).
MYOB Practice and MYOB AEYou've activated Contacts Migration

Set up Team Security in MYOB AE. Those security settings will apply to your clients and staff in MYOB Practice.

If your practice has multiple AE/AO databases, the client restrictions apply in the database that the client's been added to in your practice.

MYOB Practice and MYOB AO (NZ)You've activated Contacts MigrationSet up Team Security in MYOB AO. Those security settings will apply to your clients and staff in MYOB Practice.

What happens when a client's restricted in MYOB Practice

For MYOB Practice users without the Administrator role who haven't been given access to a restricted client, those users cannot see the client at all in MYOB Practice.

Here's a summary of how different activities in MYOB Practice are affected for users who don't have access to a restricted client.

Restricted information and activities
  If a user is restricted from accessing a client, they...
Advisory
  • can't create advisory reports for the client's linked AccountRight or MYOB Essentials file
Documents
  • can't publish or view documents that have been sent to the client’s portal, or have been uploaded from the client's portal.
Personal 
information
  • can't view the client's contact details, such as phone numbers and addresses, their date of birth and tax information.
    Restricted clients will show with a padlock icon in the Client list for all administrators, and for staff who do have access to them.
    If a staff member doesn't have access to a client, they won't see them in the Client list.
Portal
  • can't create a portal for the client, or add them to an existing portal.
  • can't view or edit a portal that the client is part of, even if the portal is shared with clients that the staff member does have access to.
  • can't be selected as the default "Send as" or "Notify" user for the client's portal.
Tasks
  • can't create or view tasks for the restricted client, or for any other client they share their portal with.

    For example, if you want to create a coding report for a client you do have access to, but they share a portal with a client you don't have access to, you can't create coding report tasks for either of these clients.
  • can't be selected as the "Send as" or "Notify" user for a task that relates to the client, or any client in the same portal.
Compliance
  • can't view, prepare or lodge tax forms or activity statements (AU) for the client.
Transaction 
processing
  • can't view the client's MYOB Essentials or AccountRight file on the Transaction processing page if it has been linked to the client record.
    Why doesn’t the Transaction processing page show the files I created?
    If you’ve recently created a file, perhaps someone has restricted your access to the client. The Transaction processing page only shows files linked to clients you have access to. If your access has been removed, you can get access again by contacting an administrator in your practice. Another reason you might not see the client’s file on the Transaction processing page is if your user account or advisor account has been removed from within the client’s file. Learn about getting and removing access to a file.

Add or remove client restrictions

If you use both MYOB Practice and MYOB AE/AO (NZ)

You can add or remove client restrictions using the Team Security features in your MYOB AE/AO desktop software. Those security settings will be applied automatically in MYOB Practice.

If you have MYOB Practice without MYOB AE/AO

Choose which client you want to make a restricted client, and then choose which users you want to be able to access the restricted clients.

To add or remove client restrictions
  1. Log in to MYOB Practice as an Administrator.
  2. Click All clients on the client sidebar, and click Contacts in the top menu.
  3. In the list, find the client you want to restrict access to, and click anywhere in their row except for on their name link. The detailed view panel appears on the right of the page.
  4. Click the ellipsis in the detailed view panel and click Manage access.

    You can also access these options from the client workspace. Click View all in the Details pane.

  5. Choose who should have access to the client’s details:
    • All staff: No restrictions will be applied. All staff in the practice who are MYOB Practice users will be able to view the client’s details.
    • Specific staff: All administrators plus any users you add in the Manage access window will have exclusive access to the client’s details.
  6. To give a non-administrator access to the client, click Add Staff.
    You can search for a staff member, or select them from the list. Administrators aren’t listed because they can always access all clients, whether restricted or not.
  7. To remove someone’s access, click the x next to their name.
  8. Click Save.
To edit staff access to restricted clients

If a client is currently unrestricted, follow the To add or remove client restrictions procedure above instead.

  1. Log in to MYOB Practice as an Administrator, click Settings () on the left of the page and click Staff.
  2. From the list of staff members that appears, select a staff member and click Manage access.
  3. In the Manage access window, add-down list.


    The list only includes clients who’ve already been restricted to administrators and specific staff.
  4. To remove this staff member's existing access to a restricted client, click the x next to the client’s name.
  5. Click Save.

When you add a user, you can also select the restricted clients they should have access to.

More role restriction options