Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
HTML Wrap
classsection group
HTML
<span data-swiftype-index="true">
HTML Wrap
classcol span_3_of_5
UI Text Box
sizemedium
typewarning

From AccountRight 2020.2 onward, we've removed checking in, checking out and synchronisation. We've made these changes to improve your online security. For all the details, see Important changes in AccountRight 2020.2.

 AccountRight 2020.1 and earlier only

When you create an online company file, you can choose to automatically synchronise the file to your computer.

Synchronising means that changes that you or other users make in the online company file are downloaded to a copy of the file stored on your computer. This is referred to as the ‘offline’ copy of your file.

Your offline company file will be synchronised automatically every 20 minutes, while the company file is open. You can also manually synchronise your file.

Synchronising versus backup

The synchronised offline file that’s saved on your computer is not a backup of the online company file. You should continue to make backups whenever you want to save a copy of your file as at a point in time. For information about the importance of backing up, see Back up and restore company files.

HTML
<h2><i class="fa fa-comments"></i>&nbsp;&nbsp;FAQs</h2><br>
UI Expand
titleWhere is the offline file stored?

Where is the offline file stored?

AccountRight 2020.1 and earlier only

The offline copy of your company file is stored in the following hidden folder:
C:\Users\{name}\AppData\Local\MYOB\AccountRight\Offline\.sync

Do not delete or rename this folder or the contents of this folder. If another user signs on to Windows, and synchronises the company file, a copy of the online file will be downloaded again to that user’s sync folder.

UI Expand
titleWhat can I do if I'm getting an error when manually synchronising?

What can I do if I'm getting an error when manually synchronising?

AccountRight 2020.1 and earlier only

If you're getting an error when manually synchronising, it might mean there's a problem with the ‘offline’ (synchronised) copy of your company file stored on your computer. But you can usually fix this by moving your synchronised file, then synchronising your online file again.

Here's how:

  1. Close all programs, including AccountRight.
  2. Simultaneously press the Windows Image and E keys on your keyboard (the Windows Image key is between the Ctrl and Alt keys). The Windows Explorer window appears.
  3. In the address bar (at the top of the window) type %localappdata% and press Enter on your keyboard.
    File explorer address bar
    A list of folders will be displayed.
  4. Double-click to open the following folders MYOB\AccountRight\Offline\.sync.
    There will be one or more files in the .sync folder. Look for the one with the same name as the company file you're trying to synchronise.
  5. Right-click this file and choose Cut.
  6. Right-click on your Desktop and choose Paste.
  7. Start AccountRight and open the online company file you want to synchronise.

  8. Go to the File menu or the status bar menu and choose Sync Company File. The Ready to synchronise message appears.
  9. Click Synchronise. This can take a while and you won’t be able to work on the file while it is being synchronised.
  10. Once the file is synchronised, you can delete the file you pasted onto your Desktop.
HTML
</span>
HTML Wrap
width15%
classcol span_1_of_5
 
HTML Wrap
floatleft
classcol span_1_of_5
Panelbox
namegreen
titleRelated topics
HTML Wrap
classsidebarlinks

Work on an online company file

Set up a file for online access

Troubleshooting online files

Back up and restore company files

Panelbox
nameyellow
titleFrom the community

RSS Feed
titleBarfalse
max5
showTitlesOnlytrue
urlhttp://community.myob.com/myob/rss/search?q=synchronise+company+file&filter=labels%2Clocation%2CincludeForums%2CsolvedThreads&include_forums=true&location=category%3AAccountRight&search_type=thread&solved=true

HTML Wrap
classmorelinks

More »