Child pages
  • Close the payroll year

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
HTML Wrap
classsection group
HTML
<span data-swiftype-index="true">
HTML Wrap
classcol span_3_of_5

AccountRight Plus and Premier, Australia only

UI Text Box
sizemedium
typewarning

Known issue 01/07/2020 - Leave error in AccountRight 2020.2

Are you seeing an error like this when processing leave for an employee in the new payroll year?

This is because the employees' leave balances haven't carried over from last payroll year, but they will when you record your first pay.

So, in most cases you can ignore this warning and process the pays as normal.

When you record the pay, your employees' leave balances will carry over from the previous payroll year.

UI Text Box
sizemedium
typewarningtip

From AccountRight 2020.2 onwards, there's no need to close the payroll year so we've removed that option from the File menu.

Stay compliant by using the latest AccountRight version, and see how we've simplifed your end of payroll year.

 Closing the payroll year will:

  • clear the payroll history from employee cards
  • prevent you from preparing payment summaries for the previous year using the Payment Summary Assistant
  • carry over entitlement balances that have the Carry Remaining Leave Over to Next Year preference set in the Entitlement Information window of the entitlement category
  • clear any entitlement balances that don't have the Carry Remaining Leave Over to Next Year preference set in the Entitlement Information window of the entitlement category
  • prevent you from editing or deleting pay amounts for the previous year.
UI Text Box
sizemedium
typenote

If you've been reporting payroll information to the ATO using Single Touch Payroll, don't forget to finalise your Single Touch Payroll information.

UI Expand
expandedtrue
titleTo close the payroll year

To close the payroll year

  1. Go to the File menu, choose Close a Year, and then Close a Payroll Year. The Close a Payroll Year Assistant opens. Can't see this option? See the note above.
  2. Click Next and set the new payroll year details.
  3. Click Next.
  4. Click Backup and follow the instructions in the windows that appear.

    UI Text Box
    sizemedium
    typewarning

    Once the year is closed, detailed payroll information will no longer be available for editing. You should make a back up now, so that if you need to reprint reports or payment summaries you can restore the backup and complete those tasks.

  5. When you're ready to close the year, click Close the Payroll Year. The Conclusion window shows the details of the new year.
  6. When you're done, continue with Updating the PAYG tax tables.
UI Text Box
sizemedium
typenote

Looking for key EOFY dates? Check our EOFY hub.

HTML
<h2><i class="fa fa-comments"></i>&nbsp;&nbsp;FAQs</h2><br>
UI Expand
titleCan I roll back a closed payroll year?

Can I roll back a closed payroll year?

If you've closed the payroll year by mistake or closed it multiple times, you'll need to restore a backup created before you closed the payroll year.

HTML
</span>
HTML Wrap
width15%
classcol span_1_of_5
        

 

      
HTML Wrap
floatleft
classcol span_1_of_5
Panelbox
namegreen
titleRelated topics
HTML Wrap
classsidebarlinks

Updating the PAYG tax tables

Closing a payroll year