Page tree

 

 


 

 

Security Group Maintenance is used to define the names for the security groups to identify employees in the practice. For example, you may create a Manager group and a Team Member group.

Security groups are used to group employees together to use the same features of the database. Employees can be grouped together for various reasons but, normally, it is because they are at the same staff level or they perform similar duties.

The software contains a limited number of security groups but more can be added if required.

You can only amend a security group when it is not being used by the system. If you have the appropriate permissions, you can delete the default security groups and others added by your practice.

 

To set up or edit a security group
  1. Select MaintenanceSecurity > Security Group Maintenance on the main menu (AE) or MaintenanceMaintenance MapSecurity > Security Group Maintenance. The Maintenance Security Group Maintenance page opens.

  2. Enter the Name of the new security group in the first blank row at the top of the table. To edit, overtype an existing name.

  3. Enter a brief Description of the security group. To edit, overtype an existing description.

  4. Click the checkbox in the Super User column to give unrestricted access to the group, if appropriate. If the checkbox in the Super User column is left unselected, this means that the security group does not have unrestricted access.

  5. Press [Enter] to add more security groups.

  6. Click OK to save the changes and close the Maintenance Security Group Maintenance page.

To delete a security group

You cannot delete a security group that is being used by the system.

  1. Select MaintenanceSecurity > Security Group Maintenance on the main menu (AE) or MaintenanceMaintenance MapSecurity > Security Group Maintenance. The Maintenance Security Group Maintenance page opens.

  2. Click the row containing the security group you want to delete.

  3. Click to highlight the entire row.

  4. Press [Delete]. An Important System Information message is displayed to confirm the deletion.

  5. Click Yes.

  6. Repeat steps 2 - 4 to delete other security groups.

  7. Click OK to save the changes and close the Maintenance Security Group Maintenance page.