Page tree

 

 


 

 

Not available in AO New Zealand

A client can be removed from your database when you no longer require their details. This is generally available when there is no information attached to the client such as tax returns, work in progress or bills. It is more commonly used when a client has been set up in error.

As this feature is not available in AO New Zealand, you must close the client. See Closing a client.

We recommend you close a client instead of deleting it, as this process cannot be reversed! If you decide to delete a client from your database, ensure you retain copies of all relevant documents from Practice Management and Tax.

To delete a client (without Practice Manager)
  1. Click on the Main tab of the client.

  2. Click Convert to contact in the Tasks bar. The message Are you sure you want to convert this client to a contact appears.

  3. Click Yes. The Main tab of the contact is displayed.

  4. Click Delete contact in the Tasks bar. The prompt Are you sure you want to delete this contact appears.

  5. Click Yes. The Find Clients page appears and the client has been deleted.

    A message may appear Client has Tax Returns. Are you sure you want to permanently delete this client and all its tax details? Answering Yes to this question will delete the returns and all the tax details for the client. This process cannot be reversed.
To delete a client (with Practice Manager)
  1. Find and open the client you want to close. See Finding and opening clients and contacts.

  2. Click Delete client on the Tasks bar. The Delete Client Confirm message is displayed.

  3. Click Yes. The client is removed from the database.

    A message may appear Client has Tax Returns. Are you sure you want to permanently delete this client and all its tax details? Answering Yes to this question will delete the returns and all the tax details for the client. This process cannot be reversed.

Deleting clients with assignments

You cannot delete a client if there are assignments assigned to it. If you wish to delete the client, you will need to remove the assignments from the client first as long as there have been no wip or debtor transactions posted against the assignment.

Deleting clients with assignments
  1. Open the client and go to the Assignments tab.

  2. Click on the Name hyperlink to open an assignment. The Main tab is displayed.

  3. Click Delete assignment on the Tasks bar. The message Are you sure you want to delete this assignment appears.

  4. Click Yes. The Assignments tab appears.

    If the deleted assignment still appears, click the Refresh icon in the Tasks bar.

  5. Repeat 2 and 3 for any remaining assignments.

  6. Go to the Main tab of the client.

  7. Click Delete client on the Tasks bar. The Delete Client Confirm message is displayed.
  8. Click Yes. The client is removed from the database.

Deleting clients with WIP or debtor transactions posted to the client

Clients cannot be deleted in Practice Manager if any WIP or debtor transactions have been posted to the client.

To delete clients with WIP or debtor transactions posted to the client
  1. Action outstanding transactions.
  2. Close the assignment (AE) and client.