Page tree

 

 


 

 

If a client no longer requires your services, you can close the client to prevent them appearing in your searches and current reports. Their details and history are still retained in your database.

If you need to access the client record again, you can include closed clients in your searches. Closed clients display in your search results with a line through the text. You can re-open a closed client at any time to make them active again.

Rules for closing clients

  • A client with an outstanding WIP or debtor balance can't be closed.
    Address this by reducing the WIP balance to zero by either billing the client or writing the WIP off. Also, enter a debtor adjustment/ bad debt against any unpaid invoices, if you're unable to collect the debt.  
  • When closing clients don't enter an end date against the partner on the client's Responsibility tab.  All clients must have an open partner for historical reporting to be correct.
  • If there haven't been any transactions entered against the client, delete the client

(AO) Make that all jobs and WIP for the client are finalised before closing a client. Keep copies of all relevant documents from both AO Practice Management and AO Tax. 

To close a client
  1. In AE/AO, click the Contacts icon. The Find Clients tab appears.
  2. In the Search For field, type the client name or code and click Search. The client record appears.
  3. Double-click the client name to open the record. The client's Main tab appears.
  4. In the Tasks bar, click Close client.
    AO - Providing there is no unbilled wip or outstanding debtor balance, the client closes. Closed appears on the client page, next to the client name.
    AE - The message This action will close all open assignments appears. Click Yes. The client closes. Closed appears on the client page, next to the client name.

  5. Click OK. The Find Clients tab displays.
To reopen a closed client
  1. In AE/AO, click the Contacts icon. The Find Clients tab appears.
  2. At the bottom of the tab, select the Include closed clients checkbox. Closed clients appear with a line through their name.


  3. In Search For, type the client name or code and click Search. The client record appears.
  4. Double-click the client name to open the record. The client's Main tab appears.

  5. In the Tasks bar, click Re-open client. The client reopens.

  6. Click OK.
To reopen assignments once a client has been reopened (AE)
  1. Once a client has been reopened, select the Assignments tab.

  2. In the middle of the page, select the Show Closed Assignments checkbox. All closed assignments for this client display.

  3. Click the name of the assignment you wish to re-open. The Main tab of the Assignment Details window appears.
  4. Select Open from the Assignment Status drop-down.
  5. Click OK to save the changes.