You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 239 Current »


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

This information is intended for AccountRight v19 (or earlier) users moving to the new AccountRight. If you're already using the new AccountRight and need to update your software, or upgrade a file that's already online, see Getting the latest version.

Not sure which AccountRight version you're using? Open AccountRight, go to Help and choose About AccountRight.

Key points

You need an AccountRight subscription to upgrade

If you don't have a subscription, you'll need one before you can upgrade. Subscribe now.

If you're already have a subscription and want to know how many files you can put online, see here.

Check the following features

Take note if you use these features in your Classic AccountRight (v19 or earlier) software:

  • Negative inventory -  this isn't supported in the latest version of AccountRight—inventory items can't have a negative quantity or value. But if you adjust your inventory quantities and values to zero or greater (in each location, if you use multiple inventory locations), you can turn off negative inventory and it won't prevent you from upgrading.

  • Add-ons that require ODBC. Are your add-ons compatible? Check the add-on centre (Australia | New Zealand) or contact the add-on provider to check if the add-on can work with the new AccountRight.

Upgrading a FirstAccounts company file

FirstAccounts is a very old product so you'll first need to upgrade to AccountRight v19, then you'll be able to upgrade to the new AccountRight. For all the details, see Upgrading FirstAccounts to AccountRight v19.

Also, check these things

Check ifMore information
your computer can run the new AccountRight

Check the full system requirements.

the size of your file is 300MB or moreIf your file is 300MB or more in size, you should prepare your company file for the new AccountRight . This can help the upgrade complete faster and smoother.
the file you want to upgrade is located in a C:\Program Files subfolderYou’ll need to log on to your computer as an administrator before you can upgrade it. For tips on how to find the file you want to upgrade, see How to find your file.
you have customised reports

You'll need to recreate them in the new software version. The good news is we've made customising reports easier. See Customising reports.

Your customised forms can be migrated into the new AccountRight after the upgrade - so you won't need to customise them again.

you can find the file you want to upgrade.See Find the file you want to upgrade for tips.

You can work online or offline – it's your choice

If you upgrade online, you still get to choose how you work day to day. You can either:

  • work online, so you can work with others on your company file. For example, your accountant can log on and run reports without interrupting your work.
  • work offline (check out your file) so you can keep working if you won't have access to the internet for a while. Or, you might prefer to work offline and go back online only when you want your accountant to access your file. AccountRight gives you that flexibility. 

Switching between working online and offline is pretty easy:

check out and check back in

But if you really can't or don't want to work online at all, you can upgrade your file without putting it online.

If you:

  • don't want online access
  • don't have an internet connection, or it's very slow
  • don't have a subscription for an online file
  • or if you operate on a network

you can upgrade the file without putting it online — but this means you won't have access to key features. You can still put your company file online later if you change your mind.

What's different in the new AccountRight?

Upgrading AccountRight made easy free eLearning

Ready to upgrade?

You can send your company file to us and we'll do the upgrade for you.

See Upgrade to the new AccountRight.

After you've upgraded

After you open your upgraded company file, you may need to set up a few features again, depending on what features you use. See Complete your upgrade tasks for all the details.

downgrade