Whenever you sign in with a new device or browser, you'll need to enter a code. If you don't want to enter a code every time, choose the Trust this device for 30 days option as you sign in. MYOB will remember this device and you won't be asked for a code for the next 30 days.

This option only works when you sign in with the same device and browser you were using when you selected it (for example, using Chrome on your laptop, or Internet Explorer on your tablet). If you sign in from another device or browser, 2FA will still be required.

Don’t select Trust this device for 30 days on a shared device.

How do I turn off Trust this device for 30 days? You can clear the 'Trust this device' setting by:

  • (AccountRight) signing out (Services menu > Sign out from AccountRight)
  • (MYOB Essentials) logging in using a different browser or computer.

Troubleshooting

If you’ve selected Trust this device for 30 days, but you're still being asked for a 2FA code when you sign in it could be for one of these reasons:

The Trust this device setting is saved by the browser you’re using, on the device you’re using - not by your MYOB account. This means that if you selected Trust this device while signing in, then later you sign in using a different browser or a different computer, you’ll be asked for a 2FA code.

The fix for this is simple - you can set Trust this device on multiple browsers and computers, so set it on each browser and computer you use, once a month.

When you sign into an AccountRight online file, the sign in window opens in Internet Explorer (even though it looks like you haven’t left AccountRight). This means that when you select Trust this device, the setting is saved in Internet Explorer. If you use a different browser (e.g. Chrome) when you sign in to other products then you'll need to set it for the other browser as well.

The Trust this device setting is saved by the browser you’re using, and will only remember one user at a time. So if someone logs in to their account after you and selects Trust this device , you’ll be asked for a 2FA code next time you sign in.

This might seem like a needless hassle but 2FA is designed as a second layer of protection for your account, so it’s not designed to work on shared devices.

You might experience this if you have a shared device in your business – like a shared computer used in a training room. This computer might be ‘secure’ because it’s part of your business and running antivirus software, but because it’s shared you should always use 2FA when you use it to sign in to your MYOB account.

Make sure your browser settings are not set to 'Clear cookies on exiting the browser'.

For instructions on this, see the help for your internet browser. Here are the steps for Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox.

Make sure that your antivirus software settings do not clear cookies in your browser. To do this, see the help for your antivirus software.

Signing out of AccountRight (Services menu > Sign out from AccountRight) will clear the 'Trust this device' setting. To keep the setting, close the AccountRight window using the X in the top right corner, or click File > Exit instead of signing out.

Only signing out of AccountRight clears the trusted device setting. Signing out of other MYOB products won’t clear the setting.

When you install an AccountRight update, the 'Trust this device' setting may be cleared.

 

Two-factor authentication

Getting help with two-factor authentication

Using your backup codes

Recovering your account