Child pages
  • Updating an AccountRight network


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

There are two parts to updating an AccountRight network:

  • update the server with the latest version of AccountRight Server Edition (the server is the computer that stores your company files), and
  • update the clients with the latest version of the AccountRight PC Edition (the clients are the computers that access the company files).

Not sure if you're using Server Edition? Look for SE in the desktop shortcut description.

2019.2 Server Edition desktop icon

If your shortcut doesn't contain SE you're probably using the PC Edition. Learn how to get the latest version.

Updating from Server Edition v2019.2 to v2019.2.1 (Australia only)

While AccountRight might prompt you that an update is available, AccountRight Server Edition v2019.2.1 can only be updated as follows:

  1. Uninstall your current AccountRight Server Edition. Only the software is removed. Your company files and customised templates are not affected..
  2. Download the latest AccountRight Server Edition installer (subscription required).
  3. Install the downloaded version.
To update AccountRight on a network

To update AccountRight on a network

Here’s our recommended method to updating AccountRight on a network.

1. Update the server

In a server/client network setup, install any AccountRight updates on the server first.

  1. Ensure no clients are accessing the AccountRight server.

  2. Start AccountRight on the server and open a company file. Company files in a network library will appear in My Library on the server:
     

  3. Double click the file to open it. If an update is available, you'll be prompted to update:

  4. Click Update now. If you don't see the update prompt, download Sever Edition here (AccountRight subscription required).

  5. Follow the on-screen instructions to install the update.

2. Update the clients

After updating the AccountRight server, start AccountRight on a client and open the company file as usual. If an update is available, you’ll be prompted to update AccountRight. Click Update now and follow the on-screen instructions to install the update. Repeat for each client. If you don't see the update prompt, download PC Edition here  (AccountRight subscription required).

If you’re not entitled to install AccountRight, you won’t be able to install the update automatically. Contact MYOB on 1300 555 123 (Australia) or 0508 328 283 (New Zealand) to find out how to upgrade or subscribe.

3. Upgrade the company file

  1. Once all clients have been updated to the latest AccountRight version, open AccountRight using the new shortcut that's been added to your Desktop. 
  2. Open each company file you use. If prompted to upgrade, click Yes. Now you’re up to date.

Updating AccountRight in other network setups

Online

If your company files are in the cloud, you just need to update each computer when prompted that an update is available.

Terminal server and roaming profiles

If you have a terminal server, or roaming profile network setup, you can choose to administer AccountRight using the msi installer. For the latest MSI installer see Getting the latest version.

 

  Updating FAQs


Why am I being asked to Modify, Repair or Remove?

Why am I being asked to Modify, Repair or Remove?

If you already have the current version installed and attempt to install a patch, you'll be asked to Modify, Repair or Remove.


To install the patch you'll need to:

  1. Uninstall your current AccountRight Server Edition.
  2. Download the latest AccountRight Server Edition installer (subscription required).
  3. Install the latest version.
Why am I being prompted to update AccountRight after already updating?

Why am I being prompted to update AccountRight after already updating?

If you've installed the latest update but you're still getting an update message, it's likely you're opening your previous version. Look for the 2019.2 shortcut on your desktop.

2019.2 Server Edition desktop icon

How do I uninstall older AccountRight versions after installing an update?

How do I uninstall older AccountRight versions after installing an update?

See Uninstall AccountRight.