Child pages
  • Complete your bank reconciliation before upgrade


 

 

Close

How satisfied are you with our online help?*

Just these help pages, not phone support or the product itself

0
1
2
3
4
5
Very dissatisfied
Very satisfied

Why did you give this rating?

Anything else you want to tell us about the help?

If you've received an email or in-product message that MYOB Essentials will be soon upgraded, you should complete any saved bank recs in MYOB Essentials.

This is because only completed bank recs will be migrated during the upgrade – if you don't complete a saved reconciliation, you'll need to re-reconcile transactions in the upgraded software. 

In MYOB Essentials there's the option to select transactions for reconciliation and save those selections. However, if these saved recs aren't completed they won't be migrated during the upgrade, meaning that the reconciliation will need to be re-checked and transactions reselected in the upgraded software.

Here's some ways you can check for saved bank recs:

Check Bank Reconciliation Reports

For a quick summary of the last completed reconciliations, go to the Reports > All reports > Banking reports section and click Banking reconciliation. The Bank Reconciliation Reports lists completed reconciliations.

Click the Date column to show the most recent first.

Note that only completed bank recs appear in this report, but this may help you to work out if there's saved bank recs you need to complete.

Check the reconciliation of each account

Go to the Banking menu > Bank reconciliation and select each account you reconcile.

Check if there is a Last completed reconciliation date and click Show reconciled to see if there are ticked transactions indicating a saved bank rec.

(MYOB Partners only) Check transaction processing

Check Transaction processing to see how many transactions remain to be allocated and reconciled.

  1. Go to partner.myob.com and click Transaction processing in the top menu bar.
  2. Check the coding status of the business to be upgraded. Note the following about the coding indicators:
    • Black - This indicates there are transactions that have not yet been coded in this calendar month for all or some of your client's bank or credit card accounts. We recommend that you code these transactions to get them ready for reconciliation.

    • Green - This indicates that you have coded all of the bank and credit card transactions but not all of the bank or credit card account transactions have been reconciled yet for that calendar month. We recommend that your client completes as much of their bank reconciliation as possible prior to migration in line with your established processes and agreements with your client.
    • Blue - All transactions have been reconciled for your client's bank and credit card accounts for that calendar month.

Even if all transactions have been reconciled, you'll still see a green indicator until the end of the month – confirm with your client that reconciliation is complete.

If your client has a saved reconciliation, advise them to complete as much of it as they can before the upgrade - see Complete your reconciliation.

Complete your reconciliation

If there is a saved reconciliation, you should complete as much of it as you can before the upgrade. Follow the steps as you normally would to reconcile with bank feeds or reconcile using a bank or credit card statement, ensuring that you click Complete reconciliation after selecting all transactions.

Do this for all accounts you need to reconcile.