Go to the File menu, choose Close a Year, and then Close a Payroll Year. The Close a Payroll Year Assistant opens. Can't see this option? See the note above.
Click Next and set the new payroll year details.
Click Backup and follow the instructions in the windows that appear.
Once the year is closed, detailed payroll information will no longer be available for editing. You should make a back up now, so that if you need to reprint reports or payment summaries you can restore the backup and complete those tasks.
When you're ready to close the year, click Close the Payroll Year. The Conclusion window shows the details of the new year.