Child pages
  • Deleting an invoice, quote or order

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.
HTML Wrap
classsection group
HTML
<span data-swiftype-index="true">
HTML Wrap
classcol span_3_of_5

Whether it's an invoice, quote or order, deleting a sale is easy—open the sale, go to the Edit menu and choose Delete Sale. You can also right-click in the sale window and select the delete option.

When a sale is deleted, it's permanently removed from your records.

Having trouble deleting a sale? Check the following:

  • User role—Your user role must allow deleting.
  • Security preference—AccountRight's security preference must be set to allow transactions to be deleted. See To allow transactions to be deleted below for details.
  • Locked periodA sale being deleted can't be in a locked period 
  • Financial year—A sale being deleted must be in your current financial year.
  • PaymentsIf a sale has a payment applied to it, you must first delete the payment. See To delete a payment applied to a sale below for details.
  • DepositsIf a sales order has a deposit applied to it, you must first delete the deposit. See Customer deposits for details.
  • Credit notesIf you applied a credit note towards a sale, you must first delete the credit.

 

UI Expand
titleTo allow transactions to be deleted

To allow transactions to be deleted

If your user role allows you to change preferences, you can change this option at any time.

  1. Go to the Setup menu and choose Preferences.

    UI Text Box
    typenote

    Preferences option greyed-out? Your user role needs to be set up with permission to set preferences. If you need to regularly change preferences, ask your administrator to add this permission to your user role.

  2. Select the Security tab, 
  3. Deselect the Transactions CAN'T be Changed; They Must be reversed option.

UI Expand
titleTo delete an invoice, quote or order

To delete an invoice, quote or order

  1. Go to the Sales command centre and click Sales Register.
  2. Click the applicable tab depending on the sale you want to delete, e.g. Quotes, Orders or Open Invoices.
  3. (Optional) Filter the list of transacions transactions by selecting a customer in the Search By field, or changing the date range.
  4. Click the zoom arrow to open the sale to be deleted.
  5. Go to the Edit menu and choose Delete Sale. The transaction will be removed permanently from your company file. If you only see the option to Reverse Sale, make sure you've set the security preference to allow transactions to be deleted (see above).

    UI Text Box
    typenote

    Delete Sale greyed-out? Your user role needs to be set up with permission to delete transactions. If you need to regularly change transactions, ask your administrator to add this permission to your user role.

UI Expand
titleTo delete a payment applied to a sale

To delete a payment applied to a sale

To delete a payment applied to a sale:

  1. Open the sale the payment was applied to.
  2. Click History.
  3. Click the zoom arrow for the payment transaction. The payment transaction will be displayed.
  4. Go to the Edit menu and choose Delete Payment.
    If you only have the option to Reverse Payment, you'll need to change your security preference as described above.
    If you don't have the Delete Payment or Reverse Payment options, it means the payment was a deposit applied to an order. See Customer deposits for how to deal with this situation.

If a discount was applied to a sale when the payment was made, you'll also need to delete the discount before the sale can be deleted.

To delete a discount applied to a sale:

  1. Open the sale the payment was applied to.
  2. Click History.
  3. Click the zoom arrow for the discount transaction. The discount (credit) transaction will be displayed.
  4. Go to the Edit menu and choose Delete Credit.
HTML
<h2><i class="fa fa-comments"></i>&nbsp;&nbsp;FAQs</h2><br>
UI Expand
titleWhy is a sale's zoom arrow shaded?

Why is a sale's zoom arrow shaded?

A sale's zoom arrow will be shaded if:

  • you've set the security preference in AccountRight which prevents transactions from being deleted (they can only be reversed) Tell me more
  • the transaction is from a previous (closed) financial year Tell me more
  • the transaction is part of a processed Prepare Electronic Payment Tell me more
  • the transaction is part of a Prepare Bank Deposit transaction Tell me more
UI Expand
titleI've deleted the payment but still can't delete the sale - why?

I've deleted the payment but still can't delete the sale - why?

The sale may have had a discount applied when the payment was made. See To delete a payment applied to a sale above for details on deleting the discount.

HTML
</span>
HTML Wrap
width15%
classcol span_1_of_5
 
HTML Wrap
floatleft
classcol span_1_of_5
Panelbox
namegreen
titleRelated topics
HTML Wrap
classsidebarlinks

Deleting a recurring transaction

Deleting a transaction

Reversing a transaction

Panelbox
nameyellow
titleFrom the community

RSS Feed
titleBarfalse
max5
showTitlesOnlytrue
urlhttp://community.myob.com/myob/rss/search?cancel_pending_on_new=false&filter=location&q=delete+invoice&quilt=MessageSearch&component=search.widget.message-search&location=category%3AAccountRight&allow_punctuation=false&collapse_discussion=true&list_item_quilt=MessageSearchItem&rerenderComponentId=search.widget.message-search&cancelPendingOnNewRequest=false&allowPunctuation=false&componentQuilt=MessageSearch&listItemQuilt=MessageSearchItem&fromSearchSubmit=true

HTML Wrap
classmorelinks
More »

...